The Colours In A Distant Dream

I wonder if I’m running through the back of your mind as I write this.

The thoughts of me holding dear everything from the genesis of our time. Wearing myself in all the colors that life throws at me-blue, red, pink, purple, green and grey. Do you see the stars in my eyes drifting back to the endless sky when the night gets quiet and heavy?

There are miles between us. There are times zones. There are clouds and mountains; ocean waves and highways between us. When the sun is about to set in my direction, it will be visiting the land where you are standing. My dinner time is your breakfast time and my good-nights become your good-mornings.

For a long time, what I was waiting for to see at the night sky were those bright stars that were falling so that I could whisper my prayer to the downfall of that dots. That you will be safe wherever you were and whatever you were doing. I would be counting the miles between us, allowing myself to be flustered by the slow ticking of the time. I’d thumb over the pages of our love, reminding myself that this is just another chapter of our book that we promised to each other. This might not have been the easiest plotline we had hoped for, but we’d at least find comfort in penning it down together.

Then there are days when we’d grow distant. Days when we’d ring bells of blue, separate ourselves by a mess of rock, an asteroid belt of our own grievances. But we would never let is consume us. We’d still align even when our thoughts are stars we cannot fathom into constellations. And that’s how we’d live. Of all the things I know, we’d never run out of shine. But it’s of no consequence. Because you are all of the planets, and all of the moons, and all of the matter; you’re all that matters. You are my sun and you’ll just keep spinning. Spinning. Spinning.

With all the implications and connotations this might bring, tonight felt like a beautiful kind of agony.

As I’m looking at the sky, my sight is no longer after the twinkling dots that would fall to the ground. I’m waiting for that aeroplane that would light up not just the obscure sky but mostly my dreams to embrace you for the longest time. I’ve wanted for your arrival a long time and the night would soon come. Sooner, my home would be on his way to my arms again. And all the colours of my distant dream would paint itself in beautiful hues.

6 thoughts on “The Colours In A Distant Dream

Leave a comment